Welcome to our 2018 Board  

Blair Telfer was elected to the role of Board Chair at Mission Heights Junior College at a similar time current Principal Ian Morrison began his tenure at the school.

It could have been a case of ‘all change’ for MHJC but neither Ian nor Blair saw it that way. Instead, both believed the school was progressive in setting a pathway of innovative, personalised, learning and at the forefront of modern New Zealand teaching ideology. Through constant review and wise investment in the future, together they have helped the school to continue to hold its position at the forefront of teaching.

“This year is significant for the Board and the school. It is co-incidental but wholly fortuitous that our School Charter, that sets the vision, values, goals and strategic direction for the next 4 years, is due to be updated and preparation of a 10-year property plan is underway. Although separate, both of these key documents are intrinsically linked. Once direction has been determined for the immediate future, it is then necessary to ensure the school has the tools and resources to meet our goals. This includes all aspects of the property portfolio – inside and outside the classroom. Key also to this success is the highly qualified, experienced and committed MHJC staff which has implemented the school vision with passion and is ready to take the school into the exciting future.

“Next year we will be celebrating our 10th birthday. We can all be very proud of the first 10 years of MHJC from its beginning as a bare piece of land to the school campus we share today and all of our achievements. The next 10 years will hold a number of challenges and opportunities for the school and I am confident we are well-placed to continue to provide amazing learning opportunities so our students can grow their greatness.”

Kia mana ake,

Blair TelferBoard Chair 2016 and member since 2014; Chartered Professional Engineer for Mott MacDonald Consulting Engineers. Blair’s two children attended MHJC from 2013-2016

Board Members: (from Top Left) John Bassano – Deputy Chair, Catherine Hunter – Teachers Representative; Seinjileen Naidu,  Mrs Sian Grant,  Jason Tuhaka;   Naddy Naidoo– MHJC Deputy Principal; Blair Telfer  Chairman; Victoria Kree – Student Representative;  Ian Morrison MHJC Principal.