Category Archives: School News

Water Whānau Muriwai Camp Day 2

Water Whānau Year 10 students had an incredible Day 2 out at Muriwai. Students learned the skills and techniques of surfing in order to catch some waves. And horse trekking along the black sand was a completely new experience for many. What stunning Auckland weather too!


Water Whānau BLAKE Presentations

Year 7 Water Whānau students had a presentation from BLAKE today. BLAKE educators brought in a class-set of virtual reality headsets to deliver an inspiring session on environmental stability with a focus on oceans. Students had an underwater experience with the VR systems comparing pristine marine environments to damaged ones. An incredible finale to their Term 1 “Life in Water’ context.
All Water Whānau students will have a session with BLAKE this week.

ANZ Future Captain!

On Sunday 25th April, Kristina Toleafoa (8C2) and her younger sister met the superstars of netball on centre court at the Pulman Arena before the Stars vs Tactix ANZ Premiership. Kristina is an up-and-coming netball player who won the chance to meet the two captains and lead the teams onto the court as part of the ANZ Future Captains programme. Congratulations Kristina!

Toesh Rawat speaks at dawn service.

Toesh Rawat (8F2) won the Howick RSA intermediate category poem/essay competition. This morning he presented his poem at the dawn service on Stockdale Hill and then later at the Howick RSA’s breakfast.  His poem is below.

On the shores of the Gallipoli Peninsula
Our men stood steadfast
As kaitiaki for whom no price was high enough
Even if it meant laying their lives down
E kore e whakarere

All around them
The stench of death, loss and grief
Comrades mere shells of men they had been
Shadows of the lives they had led
Contemplating the grueling conditions they endured
The hope that war would end kept them going
Every single day the memories of the tamariki, the kuia who wait and hope
Hope and wait for their sons return.
Hope and wait for their fathers to return
E kore e whakarere

But these men had a bigger promise to fulfill
They had to make the world a better place even with the smallest of actions.
Even the smallest of actions changed the lives of the future generations
Even the smallest of actions still affects us to this day
There every action gave us the freedom we have now.
E kore e whakarere

The day creeps by slowly and slowly with just the thought of their families
Every single day they had to deal with the gruesome conditions.
Every single day they had to fight for their families at home
Every single day the soldiers have to fight for the future tamarikis
Every single day the nurses had to help heal the injured
All to help end the war
E kore e whakarere

Putting their lives on the line
Watching their friends die
Shell casings everywhere
Rationing their food

Dying of diseases
All to help the future generations
E kore e whakarere

Stuck on the edge of a cliff
The sea on their back
Turks above them
Nowhere to go
They still fight and won’t give up
It is because of them, we live in freedom
All to help us now.
E kore e whakarere

When the war had ended, their sacrifices, not forgotten
The death of their fellow comrades, not forgotten
Everything they had done for our country, not forgotten
E kore e whakarere

Lest we forget

Lest we forget

I trust the MHJC community takes some time during the holiday to reflect on ANZAC Day. While the focus of the day is on the contribution of the ANZAC forces in the Gallipoli Campaign during world war one, it is appropriate to remember the men and women who have been killed or wounded during active service before and since. Their sacrifice has helped New Zealand to remain a free and safe democracy. That is why they deserve to be remembered and in the words of Laurence Binyon:

They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old:
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them.

I trust everyone has a safe and restful break.

Growing greatness – Kia mana ake!

MHJC Basketball

Congratulations to the MHJC ‘Miracles’ who took home the gold medal following a closely fought one point win over the ‘Heat’ in the Senior Boys ‘Keep Hoopin’ 3×3 module this evening.
Congratulations to (from back left): Leota Ivaiti, PJ Ainoa, Samuel Murray, Ross Raheke, Donovan Naidu, and Tawhiri Hetaraka.